Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

A Exact vs Closed forms

1. Jan 28, 2017 #1
    (I am a mechanical engineer, trying to make up for a poor math education)'

I understand that:
    1. A CLOSED form is a differential form whose exterior derivative is 0.0.
    2. An EXACT form is the exterior derivative of another form.

And it stops right there. I am teaching myself differential forms. And as I ratchet up my understanding, I encounter these words--closed and exact--but I am not yet comfortable with their use.

As a result, I MEMORIZE the two words and their definitions. I do this to get through some rough spots as I continue to learn. But now I am at a point where I am hungering to know why these words matter.

It would help me, I think, if I knew WHY those words were used. In other words, I just just as easily have written:
    1. A TOMATO form is a differential form whose exterior derivative is 0.0.
    2. A POTATO form is the exterior derivative of another form.
    Please forgive my sarcasm, but I am trying to get BEYOND memorizing the words. Why were those two words chosen?

And, if you can, answer in terms of pure theoretical math AND, if possible, with a meaningful (perhaps physical for a mechanical engineer) example.