Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Excimer Structure

1. Nov 8, 2014 #1
    Reposting from another section...

Can anyone explain to me how an excimer is formed? Like structure wise?

Considering Xenon.
    I've gathered that an excited state Xe*, ground state Xe, and a 3rd body M react resulting in an Xe* excimer + M(carrying away excess energy).

I'm struggling to find how the ground state Xe can have any reaction at all with its full valence band. Any pointers?

Thanks in advance!
    PS My physics/chemistry isn't particularly advanced, I'm studying elec. engineering.

2. jcsd
  3. Nov 13, 2014 #2
    Thanks for the post! This is an automated courtesy bump. Sorry you aren't generating responses at the moment. Do you have any further information, come to any new conclusions or is it possible to reword the post?

4. Jan 8, 2015 #3

Quantum Defect

Homework Helper
    Gold Member

Excimers are excited state molecules where the excited state is bound, and the ground state is not bound (or weakly bound). They can be formed in electric discharges, typically under reasonably high pressures (several bar). The high pressures are needed to increase the rate of three-body "reactions" -- e.g. Xe* + Xe + M -> Xe_2* + M.