Formation of Excimer Structures: Explained for Engineers

In summary: This means that the laser output is always the same (ie, a single photon is emitted per transition between levels), regardless of how much Xe2 is in the laser.
MartinMan
Reposting from another section...

Can anyone explain to me how an excimer is formed? Like structure wise?

Considering Xenon.
I've gathered that an excited state Xe*, ground state Xe, and a 3rd body M react resulting in an Xe* excimer + M(carrying away excess energy).

I'm struggling to find how the ground state Xe can have any reaction at all with its full valence band. Any pointers?

Thanks in advance!
PS My physics/chemistry isn't particularly advanced, I'm studying elec. engineering.

MartinMan said:
Reposting from another section...

Can anyone explain to me how an excimer is formed? Like structure wise?

Considering Xenon.
I've gathered that an excited state Xe*, ground state Xe, and a 3rd body M react resulting in an Xe* excimer + M(carrying away excess energy).

I'm struggling to find how the ground state Xe can have any reaction at all with its full valence band. Any pointers?

Thanks in advance!
PS My physics/chemistry isn't particularly advanced, I'm studying elec. engineering.
Excimers are excited state molecules where the excited state is bound, and the ground state is not bound (or weakly bound). They can be formed in electric discharges, typically under reasonably high pressures (several bar). The high pressures are needed to increase the rate of three-body "reactions" -- e.g. Xe* + Xe + M -> Xe_2* + M.