Understanding the Exit Pressure of Nozzles in Thermodynamics

In summary: Ahh. This would be correct if you have a smaller piston with the same force applied. However, think instead if that reduction happened in the fluid itself (so you had a large piston, then the fluid reduced down to a smaller diameter below it). Now the pressure in the small diameter region is the same as the large diameter reason (I'm ignoring gravity here). This is more analogous to the nozzle case, where the reduction happens in the fluid itself. If you have a nozzle with static fluid throughout, the pressure will be the same throughout, just as in this piston case. Make sense so far?
scottymo
Hi There,

Im studying thermodynamics at the moment and there's one statement about nozzles that I just haven't been able to understand. In my mind when a fluid exits a nozzle it would have a higher pressure than the inlet. Could someone please explain in what sense the pressure of a fluid drops as it goes through a nozzle? Are they talking total pressure over an area? my book doesn't explain why just makes that statement.

Thanks in advance

Engineering news on Phys.org
Why would the fluid have a higher pressure at the exit than the inlet? The whole point of a nozzle is that it accelerates the flow. In order for the flow to accelerate, the pressure gradient through the nozzle must be such that the fluid feels a force towards the exit, requiring a lower exit pressure than inlet pressure.

Likes scottymo
cjl said:
Why would the fluid have a higher pressure at the exit than the inlet? The whole point of a nozzle is that it accelerates the flow. In order for the flow to accelerate, the pressure gradient through the nozzle must be such that the fluid feels a force towards the exit, requiring a lower exit pressure than inlet pressure.