Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

B Expansion of a gas

1. Feb 28, 2016 #1
    Hi .I'm a beginner at thermodynamics,very limited in my understanding of math.I have a handbook on CO2 properties.According to it the properties for CO2 at 47.3 bar are T=12C,H= -3792,S= -42.6,and for 34.85 bar,
    T= 0 C,H= -3339.8,S=-39.33.If the gas expands from 47.3 to 34.85 bar,the gas will liquify because the enthalpy at the pressure of 47.3 is less than that for 34.85 bar.Can you please answer the following question
    Will the temperature be 0 C,or will the liquification cause the temperature to fall below 0 C?If so,to determine the temperature would you simply divide the difference between the enthalpies by the heat capacity and subtract the quotient from 0 C (-3339.8 - -3792 =452.2 / 90 = 5.2 C. 0 - 5.2 = -5.2 C.According to the handbook the entropy for CO2 at this temperature (-5.2 C)and pressure (34.85 bar)is -74.64,considerably lower than at the vapor temperature.

2. jcsd
  3. Feb 28, 2016 #2
    How are you dropping the pressure: (a) at constant enthalpy (say through a throttling valve) or (b) at constant entropy?

4. Feb 29, 2016 #3
    It would be at constant enthalpy.

5. Feb 29, 2016 #4
    OK. The final temperature is going to be 0 C, and the system is going to be comprised partly of liquid and partly of vapor. It will probably be about 90% vapor, and about 10% liquid. You need to take into account the enthalpy of the liquid and enthalpy of the vapor, and set the total final enthalpy equal to the initial enthalpy. This will enable you to determine the precise proportions of liquid and vapor.

6. Mar 1, 2016 #5
    Thank you for the help.What I am trying to do is how to use this handbook on CO2 properties in order to determine the entropy of CO2 when it expands from 47.3 bar