Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Experimental Modal Analysis

1. Feb 11, 2008 #1
    Hello, I need some help with setup/equipment used for a study to determine the natural frequencies on some small, lightweight samples (12in x 1.5in x .12 in.) in a catilever beam setup. The samples are made of carbon fiber and kevlar so they are fairly flexible to begin with. I am working on an undergrad thesis and I am very new to this type of testing.

I am currently trying to use the equipment that is already available to me: Impact hammer with signal conditioner and oscilloscope. I am wondering if this setup will yield accurate results or do I need something different for such a lightweight application.

There is also a shaker available to me with a computer and software but I opted to try the impact hammer first because the shaker, rated for 300lbs. of force seems much to large for these samples.

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Travis

2. jcsd
  3. Feb 11, 2008 #2

Mech_Engineer

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

It's probably a good idea to first do some hand calcs to see what the first couple of vibrational modes are, to see what frequencies you will be working at. That will help you decide what setup will be best suited for what you're trying to do.

4. Feb 11, 2008 #3
    Like i said, I have never done any work in vibration and have no idea what types of hand calculations I would need. I will attempt to do some research on that.

Maybe you can answer this question, what is the differenct between a FFT spectrum, and a FRF function? I am able to generate a FFT spectrum on the oscilloscope but is it possible to determine the mode frequencies from that?

5. Feb 11, 2008 #4

FredGarvin

Science Advisor