1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Expression eqivalent to 1+sec/cos ? Explain

1. Feb 3, 2005 #1
    Expression eqivalent to 1+sec/cos ?? Explain plz

How do u find an expression equivalent to [tex] \frac {1+\sec\theta} {\cos\theta} [/tex] to be [tex] \frac {\cos\theta+1} {\cos^2\theta} [/tex]

When I did this question I got my answer to be [tex] \frac {2} {\cos\theta}[/tex]

Im not very good with identities can someone please explain to me how to do this question and other like it.

Last edited: Feb 3, 2005
  2. jcsd
  3. Feb 3, 2005 #2

learningphysics

Homework Helper

Can you show your steps to getting that? I'll point out where you went wrong.

4. Feb 3, 2005 #3
    [tex] \frac {sin^2\theta + \cos^2\theta} {\cos \theta} + \frac {\sin^2\theta+\cos^2\theta} {\cos\theta} (this is over \cos \theta) [/tex]

5. Feb 3, 2005 #4

learningphysics

Homework Helper

Forget about [tex] sin^2\theta + \cos^2\theta =1 [/tex].

Do the problem again, but this time only use:[tex]sec\theta=\frac{1}{cos\theta}[/tex] and try to simplify it.

Last edited: Feb 3, 2005
  6. Feb 3, 2005 #5
    I have gone through so many of these types of questions but I have no idea of how to simplify it, I've looked everywhere for a similar example but just cant find anything, I dont know what to do... :cry: How do u solve these questions that ask for equivalent identities? :redface:

7. Feb 3, 2005 #6

cepheid

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Well, did you take learningphysics' advice? Substitute 1/sec(x) every time you see cos(x) to get the expression in terms of secant, instead of cosine. That is definitely a step in the right direction.