Expression eqivalent to 1+sec/cos ? Explain

In summary, the expression equivalent to 1+\sec\theta/\cos\theta is \frac {\cos\theta+1} {\cos^2\theta} and it can be simplified using the property \frac{1+\frac{1}{a}}{b}=\frac{a+1}{ab} and the identity \sec\theta=\frac{1}{\cos\theta} .
aisha
Expression eqivalent to 1+sec/cos ?? Explain please

How do u find an expression equivalent to [tex] \frac {1+\sec\theta} {\cos\theta} [/tex] to be [tex] \frac {\cos\theta+1} {\cos^2\theta} [/tex]

When I did this question I got my answer to be [tex] \frac {2} {\cos\theta}[/tex]

Im not very good with identities can someone please explain to me how to do this question and other like it.

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
Can you show your steps to getting that? I'll point out where you went wrong.

[tex] \frac {sin^2\theta + \cos^2\theta} {\cos \theta} + \frac {\sin^2\theta+\cos^2\theta} {\cos\theta} (this is over \cos \theta) [/tex]

aisha said:
[tex] \frac {sin^2\theta + \cos^2\theta} {\cos \theta} + \frac {\sin^2\theta+\cos^2\theta} {\cos\theta} (this is over \cos \theta) [/tex]

Forget about [tex] sin^2\theta + \cos^2\theta =1 [/tex].

Do the problem again, but this time only use:[tex]sec\theta=\frac{1}{cos\theta}[/tex] and try to simplify it.

Last edited:
I have gone through so many of these types of questions but I have no idea of how to simplify it, I've looked everywhere for a similar example but just can't find anything, I don't know what to do... :cry: How do u solve these questions that ask for equivalent identities? :redface:

Well, did you take learningphysics' advice? Substitute 1/sec(x) every time you see cos(x) to get the expression in terms of secant, instead of cosine. That is definitely a step in the right direction.

BTW, check back to your thread "please explain". I posted the solution to your previous problem there, since you were very close to understanding it anyway.

Use:
[tex] \sec x =\frac{1}{\cos x} [/tex]

and