Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Homework Help: Expression eqivalent to 1+sec/cos ? Explain

1. Feb 3, 2005 #1
    Expression eqivalent to 1+sec/cos ?? Explain plz

How do u find an expression equivalent to [tex] \frac {1+\sec\theta} {\cos\theta} [/tex] to be [tex] \frac {\cos\theta+1} {\cos^2\theta} [/tex]

When I did this question I got my answer to be [tex] \frac {2} {\cos\theta}[/tex]

Im not very good with identities can someone please explain to me how to do this question and other like it.

Last edited: Feb 3, 2005
  2. jcsd
  3. Feb 3, 2005 #2

learningphysics

Homework Helper

Can you show your steps to getting that? I'll point out where you went wrong.

4. Feb 3, 2005 #3
    [tex] \frac {sin^2\theta + \cos^2\theta} {\cos \theta} + \frac {\sin^2\theta+\cos^2\theta} {\cos\theta} (this is over \cos \theta) [/tex]

5. Feb 3, 2005 #4

learningphysics

Homework Helper

Forget about [tex] sin^2\theta + \cos^2\theta =1 [/tex].

Do the problem again, but this time only use:[tex]sec\theta=\frac{1}{cos\theta}[/tex] and try to simplify it.

Last edited: Feb 3, 2005
  6. Feb 3, 2005 #5
    I have gone through so many of these types of questions but I have no idea of how to simplify it, I've looked everywhere for a similar example but just cant find anything, I dont know what to do... :cry: How do u solve these questions that ask for equivalent identities? :redface:

7. Feb 3, 2005 #6

cepheid

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Well, did you take learningphysics' advice? Substitute 1/sec(x) every time you see cos(x) to get the expression in terms of secant, instead of cosine. That is definitely a step in the right direction.

BTW, check back to your thread "plz explain". I posted the solution to your previous problem there, since you were very close to understanding it anyway.

8. Feb 3, 2005 #7

dextercioby

Science Advisor