Calculating Exterior Surface Area of Prism | Complex Maths

In summary, the formula to calculate the exterior surface area of a prism can be applied by breaking the surface into individual pieces and finding the area of each piece, or by multiplying the perimeter of the base by the height. The surface can be broken into two rectangular pieces, one long cylindrical piece, and two right triangles and two semi-circles on the ends. One can also find the area of the curving piece by treating it as a rectangle with a height of the given height and a width of half the perimeter of the circle.
risphysics
I'm a new student to complex maths & I'm after the formula to calculate the exterior surface area of the prism - see attached diagram.
I know formula for a surface area of triangular prism = ab + ph and cylinder = 2pir^2 + 2 pi rh. Don't know where/how to apply formula to half of these.
Thanks for your assistance.

Attachments

• figure.jpg
    figure.jpg
    10.2 KB · Views: 306
Mathematics news on Phys.org
There are a couple ways to do this. One is to break the surface into a bunch of pieces, like in this image:
http://img371.imageshack.us/img371/3480/areapeicesij5.png

and then find the surface area of each of the peices individually and add them up (Have you learned how to do this yet?)

Another way to find the outer surface (excluding the top and bottom peices) is to multiply the perimeter of the base by the height.

Both ways will give the same result.

Last edited by a moderator:
No I haven't learned the method of breaking it up into pieces. Could you elaborate further pls.
I'm studying Residential Drafting via correspondece, so unfortunately I do not have a teacher to refer to. Thanks again.

"Breaking it into pieces" is really just looking at it.