1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

F Transform

1. Dec 10, 2007 #1

I am studying Quantummechanics, but I don't see how Fourriertransforms in quantum mechanics work

I want to know how I can Fourrier Transform the Hydr. ground state, so the transform of
    [tex] \phi\left(r\right)=\left(\frac{1}{\pi a_{0}^3}\right)^\frac{1}{2} e^\left-(\frac{r}{a_{0}}\right) [/tex]

Does someone knows the answer

2. jcsd
  3. Dec 11, 2007 #2
    A Fouriertransform is used to convert one function in a certain space into the same function in one other space.

To represent the hydrogen ground state in p-space (momentum space) you evaluate the following integral over the whole space:

psi(p) = (2 pi h)^{-3/2} \int {exp(ip.r/h)*phi(r) dr}.

Where the expression for the hydrogen ground state is to be inserted at phi, h represent the reduced placks constant and the expression p.r is a scalar product between the two vectors p and r.

Hope you find yourself wiser after reading this!

/The Latex-rookie
  4. Dec 11, 2007 #3

He Reid thanks

but should it not be (2 pi h)^{-1/2}?
    Do you know where on the net I can find this formula

Thanks for the help
  5. Dec 11, 2007 #4

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

It doesn't really matter which factor you put in front of the transform, as long as you make sure that the factor of the inverse transform is such that transforming forth and back subsequently yields the same answer. It's a matter of convention and convention differs in different areas of physics. In this case, Reid suggested ( (2 pi h)^{-1/2} )^3 because you are working in three dimensions. Other common factors include (2pi)^{-1/2}, (2 pi i)^{-1/2}.
  6. Dec 12, 2007 #5
    Hi again,