Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Fad diets

1. Jun 17, 2014 #1
    I wanted to launch a new thread because I ran a search and didn't see a recipe thread. If there is one, feel free to merge the thread.

What does it take to open a recipe thread? Well, for me it takes a meal I made 3 nights ago that I'm still drooling over. I'll introduce it in the next post

2. jcsd
  3. Jun 17, 2014 #2
    Scallops in brown butter sauce with fr0zen seasonable vegetables

I recently went on the Paleo diet, aka caveman diet cause my sixpack turned into a tupac. In any case, I found this recipe, and wanted to share. It's on the diet. It's all about low carbs.

The first thing you need to do is brown the butter. I've never done that before, so it seemed weird. I remember always trying to crack the eggs in the pan fast BEFORE the butter browned, or burnt.

But there's another way. What I did is take a whole cube of butter. You have to divide it by ten. Just take a butter knife (of course) and cut it into 10 equal portions. Put it into a small 6 inch pan or equivalent. Put it over medium heat. Let it cook. It surprisingly takes a long time to boil, at least on my ancient stove, yours might be different. But when it starts to sizzle, start stirring frequently. Keep it on medium, though, don't indulge the temptation to turn the heat up to accelerate the maturity. That's the key. You want to keep cooking it until it gets to a light brown color. It's gonna look kinda gross and there's going to be brown suspension-ish particles in there. But persevere.

The acid test is when you start getting thick rich chestnut aroma, that's when it's ready. Pull out a ceramic bowl and pour the brown butter in it.