Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Failure Rate Question

1. Sep 8, 2006 #1
    I am currently studying for a business qualification I am stubling over a question.

It concerns calculating failure rate. The equation I know for this needs the number of failures over the total time.

However the question is: "A device has a reliability of 0.8 over 2000 hours, calculate the failure rate."

How can one firstly work of the number of failures from this? It doesn't give any other information, ie total sample size etc. just the reliability over 2000 hours.

Thanks
    Andrew

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 8, 2006 #2

russ_watters

Staff: Mentor

I'm pretty sure 0.8 is the number of failures. To me it seems like the question gives the answer, but hen I guess I'm not sure what they are looking for. Wik has some info: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Failure_rate
    So the population size would be 1, time is 2000 hours, and number of failures is .8.

Last edited: Sep 8, 2006
  4. Sep 9, 2006 #3

Astronuc

Staff: Mentor

I believe reliability means 'rate of success', i.e. it works reliably 0.8 or 80% of the time. So 1 is all the time, and 1-0.8=0.2 would be unreliability, which is related to the failure rate.

Look on the page for MIL-HDBK-217F
    Reliability Prediction of Electronic Equipment- Notice F
    http://www.weibull.com/knowledge/milhdbk.htm#200

One can download the pdf file.

Weibull.com is a good resource for statistics and statistical analysis.

Last edited: Sep 9, 2006
  5. Sep 11, 2006 #4
    Just to make this simple for you place it in your math formula like it says.