1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Falling Roof Tile Problem

1. Sep 11, 2003 #1
    Hello! I'm a new user. I'm currently a college student taking Physics. I have previous Calculus experience, so the mathematical area isn't what I'm having problems in.

There is a question that I was assigned that has got be running around in circles trying to answer. The question appears:

A roof tile falls from rest from the top of a building. An observer inside the building notices that it takes 0.26 seconds for the tile to pass her window, whose height is 1.6 meters. How far above the top of this window is the roof?

At the moment, I know that I have

time = 0.20 seconds
    window height = 1.6 meters
    gravity acc = 9.8 m/s^2

But I don't know where to go from here. I was trying to use the equation :

v = vknot + a(subscriptx) x delta t

But I don't know if that would even apply to this problem.

Thank you for any help, assistance, or method of starting this problem! :D

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 12, 2003 #2

HallsofIvy

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor

You are told that the acceleration due to gravity is -9.8 m/s^2.

Since you have "calculus experience" you ought to know that acceleration is the derivative of velocity so you can find the velocity by integrating (in this simple case of constant acceleration, that is just multiplying): the velocity at time t (seconds) is v(t)= -9.8t+ v0. The problem says "falls from rest" so v0= 0. v(t)= -9.8t.
    velocity is, of course, the derivative of the "position function" (in the case of something falling, we can take that to be "height above the ground") so height is the integral of the velocity function: h(t)= -4.9t^2+ h0.