1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Faraday's law of Induction

1. Nov 12, 2017 #1
    1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data
    I'm in a class where we have to essentially learn E&M ourselves and I'm challenged by Maxwells equations. I'm studying out of Purcell's E&M.

The differential form of Faradays law for Maxwells equations is curl E = -∂B/∂t

Im having trouble interpreting what to make of this. I know that the law is supposed to state that a changing magnetic field (right term) will induce a current. How does curlE represent current? I know that curl is a way of determining how much a vector field rotates but can't seem to merge this with the idea of induced current.

2. jcsd
  3. Nov 12, 2017 #2

phyzguy

Science Advisor

The way that helped me to visualize things is the following. Imagine the vector field as a flow pattern in a fluid, with the arrows representing the flow of the fluid.

(1) For [itex] \nabla \cdot E[/itex], imagine a small volume at each point in the vector field. [itex] \nabla \cdot E[/itex] measures how much of the flow enters or leaves the small volume. If [itex] \nabla \cdot E = 0[/itex], it means that the same amount of flow that enters the volume leaves. This also means that the flow lines form closed curves, never starting or ending anywhere. Regions where the flow lines terminate are regions of non-zero [itex] \nabla \cdot E[/itex].

(1) For [itex] \nabla \times E[/itex], imagine a small paddle wheel at each point in the vector field. [itex] \nabla \times E[/itex] tells you how much the paddle wheel will turn. The magnitude of [itex] \nabla \times E[/itex] tells you how fast it will turn, and the direction tells you the axis of rotation.