Can a String Travel Faster than the Speed of Light?

In summary: the tube would have to be infinitely thick and have infinite tensile strength, otherwise it will break at some point during the acceleration process.
mausten
Fast than speed of light...

Hi guys & girls,

I have a question regarding traveling faster than the speed of light, a small theory, which I am hoping someone can explain to me why this wouldn't work. Note: I'm a total amateur science enthusiast, so please forgive me if this sounds really dumb.

Here's the scenario:

A stone on the end of string 1m in length that takes 1s to travel the circumference is traveling approximately 22mph. If a marker was placed 50cm along the string, it would take the marker 1s to complete a full circle, traveling at 11mph. Correct?

If the string was 7,000 miles long (11,480km) and it took 1s for the end of the string to travel the circumference, by my calculations (probably somewhat wrong), this would enable to end of the string to travel faster than the speed of light.

Hypothetically, if this huge structure was created in Space and a speed of 22mph (1 revolution per second) was achieved 1 meter, why would the end of the string not be traveling at the speed of light?

If you can let me know why I am wrong, that would be extremely helpful! :)

Thanks,

Mark

Physics news on Phys.org
You could never accelerate the structure up to full speed because the end of the string would require more and more energy to accelerate as the speed increased.

If a marker was placed 50cm along the string, it would take the marker 1s to complete a full circle, traveling at 11mph. Correct?
Correct.

If the string was 7,000 miles long (11,480km) and it took 1s for the end of the string to travel the circumference
You cannot let the string rotate once per second if it has this length.