Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Favorite equation

1. Feb 9, 2007 #1
    list your favorite equation and why

mine is -b + or - the square root of b2 -4ac all over 2a

the quadratic formula. I found it easier than factoring for finding my x's
  2. jcsd
  3. Feb 10, 2007 #2
    e^(i.pi) = -1

just because its so Goddamn freaky
  4. Feb 10, 2007 #3
    without a doubt: [tex]e^{i\pi} = -1[/tex]

i think it will be the favourite equation of many ppl around here.
  5. Feb 10, 2007 #4
  6. Feb 10, 2007 #5

Gib Z

Homework Helper

Please, if it is your favourite, give Euler's Identity the respect it deserves:

[tex]e^{i\pi} + 1 = 0[/tex]

I probably wouldn't be able to state my favorite, but heres one I found VERY useful: [tex]\int^b_a f(x) dx = F(b) - F(a)[/tex] where F'(x)= f(x)

EDIT: Favorite equation of mine, here it is. Im a mathematician, but this is really beautiful.
    [tex] F^{\rightarrow} = \frac{dp^{\rightarrow}}{dt}[/tex]. Simple, effective, and has withstood the test of time. It's still correct to this date.
    Last edited: Feb 10, 2007
  7. Feb 10, 2007 #6
    The Euler's identity, of course, because I didn't realise a thing about it when I first saw it; it didn't hit me a like a rock in the stomach, not like a lightning out of the blue, and so on. And I still don't understand what the hype is all about! People see it like some sort of Hollywood movie featuring all the top stars, that's all. :tongue2:
  8. Feb 10, 2007 #7
    is that the way Euler originally wrote it? i think i read somewhere that Euler origially wrote it as [tex]e^{i\pi} = -1[/tex] and not in the more beautiful way you or other ppl nowadays writes it.

isn't it [tex]\overrightarrow{F} \propto \frac{d\overrightarrow{p}}{dt}[/tex]
    and is it true for velocities close to the velocity of light?
  9. Feb 10, 2007 #8

Science Advisor