Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Favorite operating systems

1. Feb 4, 2007 #1

symbolipoint

Homework Helper
    Education Advisor
    Gold Member

Maybe I should have presented this as a poll: But what are the favorite computer operating systems among Mathematics, Physics, and Engineering enthusiasts (students, professionals, teachers, researchers)? Any particular or general reasons why?

2. jcsd
  3. Feb 4, 2007 #2

radou

Homework Helper

Do you really want to know? :tongue:

Well, MS-DOS is one of my favourites. Nostalgy, I guess.

4. Feb 4, 2007 #3

ranger

Gold Member

As a student I use linux based systems in my computer engineering courses for hardware based programming in assembly and C/C++. The reason is becuase it comes with all the needed libraries right from the install so there is no need to go looking for them. And also there are no licensing issues to worry about.

5. Feb 4, 2007 #4

Dr Transport

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

All the *nix flavors.....

6. Feb 7, 2007 #5
    IOS... But it was actually made from Unix I believe.

I use *nix at home along with xp and osX. My preference depends on what I am trying to do.. I use osx the most however, and I like the interface, and even more so I like what is under the hood... For Buisness application I prefer Unix or Solaris.

Last edited: Feb 7, 2007
  7. Feb 7, 2007 #6

robphy

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member

I like a cygwin-windows combination.

8. Feb 7, 2007 #7
    I've been sticking to Linux for the past few months. I've not tried out all the flavours, so I'm still a newbie. I still have XP sitting for a few things. Once I find apps that can do stuff that I rely XP for, then I will bid farewell to Windows. (Actually, the rest of the world would do that too, if they can find the suitable programs that run on Linux :biggrin:)

9. Feb 7, 2007 #8

ranger