Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

A FEM for solving PDEs

1. Dec 3, 2016 #1
    Hi, my background is in mathematics, and theoretical physics.
    I am new to the realm of solving PDEs using Finite element methods, does anyone know of any good introductory level textbooks for course notes?

I had a poke around online and couldnt find anything overly useful.

Also I am interested in solving fluid flow problems with this method :)

Thanks.

2. jcsd
  3. Dec 3, 2016 #2

DrClaude

Staff: Mentor

4. Dec 3, 2016 #3
    That's not really an. Option for me. I am not a fan of commercial cfd packages, and I do not enjoy or understand coding my own numerics in finite volumes. I use open foam for my finite volume needs. My research in rotating flows requires me to write my own numerics, and finite element is how I wish to do this. Thanks for the comment though!

5. Dec 3, 2016 #4
    I like the book "Spectral/hp methods for computational fluid dynamics" by Karniadakis and Sherwin.

6. Dec 4, 2016 #5
    A very nice book. I liked the practical approach, dealing with the numbering of the arrays, the treatment of the Schur method and the different PDE types.
    The website for their code is here: http://www.nektar.info/

The classic books are by Zienkiewicz & Taylor and Strang & Fix. I remember reading them years ago, I'm not sure if they are still considered up-to-date.

If you want some immediate action, you could try this paper on how to implement FEM in 50 lines of matlab:
    https://www.math.hu-berlin.de/~cc/cc_homepage/download/1999-AJ_CC_FS-50_Lines_of_Matlab.pdf

7. Dec 4, 2016 #6
    Maybe 'as well' and not 'instead'?
    Finite element methods have evolved to something more powerful than you can possibly imagine.