Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

I Few maths questions ..??

1. Jul 13, 2016 #1
    i have been trying to learn maths from some basics .. because i had to do programming related to maths which was in my college syllabus ...

i have been trying to narrow it down .. because we lacked proper texts and materials to learn it properly ...

the whole thing sort of looked a bit like this ...

i was wondering about the difference between a differential equations and functions like f(x,y) =

??

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 13, 2016 #2

NascentOxygen

Staff: Mentor

Can we narrow this to "how would I recognize a differential equation if I were to encounter one"?

4. Jul 13, 2016 #3
    is it a differential equation ... ?? i am sorry i am new to differential equation too ...

so its a bit like, function in one variable vs a function in two variables...

i am not sure what to google to learn such functions ...

5. Jul 13, 2016 #4

Nidum

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

6. Jul 13, 2016 #5
    Nidum ,

thanks for the link ...
    i have few more doubts ...
    the simple differential equations i have encountered .. sorts of looked a bit like this ...

is this a function of one variable or two variables ... ??

differential_equation_answer.png

f_x_y.png

are these differential equations too ??

7. Jul 13, 2016 #6

NascentOxygen

Differential equations are different from the algebraic equations you've earlier encountered. If you google "differential equations" I'm sure you'll find everything you could hope for.

A differential equation might look like this: ##\color{blue}{\frac{dy}{dx}=x+3}##