1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Few Questions

1. Apr 5, 2012 #1

set

Hello everyone. I am an international student who wishes to pursue a bachelors degree in mathematics or statistics. I am doing quite well in my senior year (90+% or 7 in IB HL Maths), although I do realise that high school grades do not matter much in studying the 'real' mathematics. I have been told that university and advanced level mathematics is quite different from that of in high school, but I'd like to know how different is it exactly. I know that university maths focus on proofs, but do they heavily depend on 'technical skills' or 'neat tricks' that are often used in contests like IMO? Or is it rather like philosophy?

Next, does it matter where I get my bachelor's degree from? Having been accepted to two different universites, I am having a dilema of which one to attend. Univ.A. is an internationally renowned university especially for mathematics, but because of its reputation, competitions will most likely be fierce. On the other hand, although Univ.B. might not be the top-tier university for mathematics, it seems like they do have a quite decent faculty and a smaller class size (around 75).

Lastly, staticians or applied mathematicians (especially for those who focus on differential equations) being replaced by computers, is it likely to happen in the future?

Any insight will greatly be appreciated.

Best Regards,

2. jcsd
  3. Apr 5, 2012 #2
    I know this doesn't answer your question, but I'm curious to hear which two universities are hiding behind the blackout expressions "Univ.A." and "Univ.B."

4. Apr 5, 2012 #3

set

University of Waterloo and McMaster University for Univ.A. and Univ.B., respectively.

5. Apr 5, 2012 #4

chiro

Science Advisor