Solving Feynman Diagrams: Electron-Positron Scattering

• Thread starter physics_fun
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Diagram
In summary, the conversation discusses the concept of momentum conservation in electron-positron scattering, specifically in the frame where the threemomentum of the incoming positron is equal to 0. The questions revolve around why defining threemomentum p4=p3 implies that they are both equal to 0, and why defining p3*p4=0 (three vectors) implies that p3 (three vector) or p4 equals 0. The attempt at a solution involves using 4-vectors and squaring them to find that p1p2=p3p4, and using the lab frame condition to find the next steps.
physics_fun

Homework Statement

Homework Equations

Hi, I'm studying Feynman diagrams; electron-positron scattering.
If the 4-momentum of the incoming electron (positron) is p1 (p2) and of the outgoing electron (positron) is p3 (p4), momentum conservation gives
p1 + p2 = p3 + p4

If you now consider the scattering in the frame where the threemomentum of the incoming positron = 0. Why does then defining threemomentum p4=p3 imply that they equal 0?
And why does defining p3*p4=0 (three vectors) imply that p3(threevector)=0 or p4=0?

The Attempt at a Solution

I tried: 4-vectors: p1+p2=p3+p4
square this: (p1)^2 + (p2)^2 + 2*p1*p2= (p3)^2 + (p4)^2 + 2*p3*p4

(p1)^2=(p3)^2=m (electron mass)
(p2)^2=(p4)^2=M (positron mass)

So: p1*p2=p3*p4
The lab frame condition gives:
p1(0)*p2(0)=p3(0)*p4(0)-p3*p4(three-vectors)

But what are the next steps?
(I hope I made clear the problem, it isn't very readable I'm afraid...)

Physics news on Phys.org
I'll try a little LATEX to make the problem more clear:

[tex]
p_{1} + p_{2} = p_{3} + p_{4}
[/tex]
These are four vectors of the in- and going momenta

You take the frame where the threemomentum [tex]p_{2}=0[/tex]

Questions:
1) Why does then defining threemomentum [tex]p_{4}=p_{3}[/tex] imply that [tex]p_{4}=p_{3}=0[/tex]? (threemomenta!)