Fields & Energy: Path of Least Resistance?

In summary, a field without energy would be unable to interfere with itself, and this could be a property of space itself.
mee
Could there be a field that is capable of doing no work, which makes it not energy, which is what interferes with itself in the double slit experiment? Perhaps particles travel along the path of least resistance in this field? Okay so I'm a novice already... :)

Physics news on Phys.org
Maybe you could make yourself a little clearer? Your idea that particles travel through the field via the paths of least resistance seems to be at variance with your idea that it is the field which interacts with itself. You might consider the particles disturbances of the field, and I believe this has already been done, but I know little to nothing about the theory (QFT anyone?).
The trouble is, according to standard theory, the interference is caused by the particle taking every possible path, and therefore you can't really talk about the particle taking a particular path at the same time as it interfering with anything (although I believe complementarity has been thrown into some doubt as of late), but wait for a more authoritative response before making any conclusions.

mee said:
Could there be a field that is capable of doing no work, which makes it not energy, which is what interferes with itself in the double slit experiment? Perhaps particles travel along the path of least resistance in this field? Okay so I'm a novice already... :)