Fields transforming in the adjoint representation?

In summary: Additionally, the transformations of these fields under the group action will be different. In terms of AdS/CFT, considering matter fields in the adjoint representation is often more convenient mathematically, but it also has physical implications in terms of how the fields behave under the dual conformal field theory. In summary, the choice of representation for matter fields is not just a mathematical issue, but also has physical implications.
Juanchotutata
Hi!
I'm doing my master thesis in AdS/CFT and I've read several times that "Fields transforms in the adjoint representation" or "Fields transforms in the fundamental representation". I've had courses in Advanced mathematics (where I studied Group theory) and QFTs, but I don't understand (or maybe I don't remember) why this is relevant. For example, last time I was reading about large N limit in vector theories and again the author started to talk about adding matter fields in the adjoint representation. I would be most grateful if someone can solve me this doubt.

Thanks for your time and attention! :)

Physics news on Phys.org
It is a bit unclear to me exactly which part is bothering you. Can you try to be a bit more specific? Is it the definition of a field transforming according to some representation, the meaning of fundamental/adjoint representation, or something else?

Likes Juanchotutata
Thank you for your answer Orodruin!. I'm sorry if I wasnt clear. I'm physicist so maybe is the meaning of adjoint and fundamental representation what is not clear for me...
I don't understand why the matter fields are in the adjoint representation or in the fundamental representation... and what happens with that.

Apologize me if my english is not the best.
Greetings!

First of all, do you have a basic understanding of what it means for a field to transform according to a particular representation of a group? If not, we must start there.