1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Financial Aid

1. Jan 11, 2005 #1
    Hello all! I know many of you must be experienced in applying for aid, via federal assistance (fafsa), loans (bank) and scholarships. I do not believe I qualify for any scholarships being I am a transfer student who is leaving my home state this Fall to go somewhere (not sure where yet.) It appears most scholarships are for graduating hs students, or in state transfers.

Anyhow, I will be filling out the FAFSA as soon as I get my W-2, but how do I find other aid? I was accepted to Rose-Hulman, but will likely not go there if I get into GA Tech or Berkeley or even UCSD. I won't find out about all of my apps until early May and must decide on a school by the first of June. So, do I wait until I get my answers and choose a school to find assistance? Or, do I contact lenders with proposed loan info once I get back FAFSA info? And, when do I know what I will get, if anything, from the government after filing the FAFSA?

I know these are probably frequently asked questions so I don't mind referral to a similar thread if one is out there. I just don't know how to go about this. Also, I hear things saying that women going into engineering are likely to find money, but where?

Thanks!
    -A

2. jcsd
  3. Jan 11, 2005 #2
    Here's what I'd do:

1. Contact the schools you've applied to ask explain your situation and ask what fin. aid they can hook you up with. Take note of the school that cares the most, for they may be the best.

2. Apply to every scholarship you can find off of here: http://www.swe.org/stellent/idcplg?IdcService=SS_GET_PAGE&nodeId=9&ssSourceNodeId=5
    even if you only get 2/10, the money'll add up.