Creating an Enemy with 2D Linear Movement: Calculating Projectile Angle

In summary, the player needs to know the position of the enemy, their velocity, and the angle at which the enemy will fire. They then use this information to calculate their own position relative to the enemy, and find the angle at which they should be shooting in order to hit the enemy.
ChichoRD
Hi, I am a game developer and recently found myself in a situation where I wanted to create an enemy that shoots at you given a set of variables. The game takes place in a top down view so there is no need for gravity acceleration, just 2d linear constant movement.

The question to answer is: Given the known position for the player (p), his velocity (v); the position of the enemy (ep) and the modulus of the vector at which the projectile will be fired (ev), find the angle the bullet should use.

Last edited:
Technology news on Phys.org
ChichoRD said:
Hi, I am a game developer and recently found myself in a situation where I wanted to create an enemy that shoots at you given a set of variables. The game takes place in a top down view so there is not need for gravity acceleration, just 2d linear constant movement.

The question to answer is: Given the known position for the player (p), his velocity (v); the position of the enemy (ep) and the modulus of the vector at which the projectile will be fired (ev), find the angle the bullet should use.
Welcome to PF.

What is your math background? If you ignore air resistance effects on the bullet, the math is pretty simple algebra. Since you are dealing with gravity (a constant acceleration downward), you use the Kinematic Equations of Motion for a constant acceleration. :smile:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Equations_of_motion

(and scroll down to the simpler algebraic equations)

berkeman said:
Welcome to PF.