Distance Lifted by Car Suspensions in Earthquake

In summary, a car with 4 people of uniform mass of 72.4kg each and a car mass of 1130kg experiences vertical oscillations during an earthquake with a frequency of 1.8 Hz. The maximum amplitude of vibration is observed when the car is stationary. After the earthquake, the 4 people quickly leave the car and the undamaged suspensions lift the car body to a distance of -0.028 times the maximum amplitude. This can be calculated using the equations for forced oscillation and simple harmonic oscillation.
lany

Homework Statement

4people with uniform mass= 72.4kg
car mass= 1130kg
earthquake strikes,car is stationary.
vertical oscillations make car bonuce on suspensions.
when frequency= 1.8 Hz car exhibits maximum Amplitude of vibration.
Earthquake over,4 people leave the car quickly,what distance does the cars undamaged suspensions lift the car body as the people get out?

Homework Equations

sorry I am new to this i don't understand what this section wants

The Attempt at a Solution

i took this as a forced oscillation and as a simple harmonic oscillation.
total mass = 1419.6 kg
Velcoity = 3.6*pi*Amax (Amax=max amplitude)
this comes from Vel=omega*Amax
omega=2*pi*Frequency

Acceleration = 2Amax/period
i don't know i thought this one up...
as max displacement= Amax + A max
and time taken => period = 1/frequency...

Acc= 3.6 Amax

x=displacement of car body by suspension...

x=Asin(omega*t)
x'=A*omega*sin(omega*t)
x''= - omega^2 *(x)

3,6Amax = -(2*pi*1.8)^2 *x

=> x= - 0.028*Amax

my head is exploding someone please give me some hint...i have an awful feeling that this could be a lot easier...

fiendishly difficult differential equations are suspected but I'm not sure how to relate everything...its kinda late here in Ireland!please have some pity...

Physics news on Phys.org

I just thought that since they left the car quickly then t must be tending towards zero...?
right track?