1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Find <H> for infinite square well

1. Mar 26, 2009 #1
    1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data

This problem comes from David Griffiths' quantum mechanics book which I have been going through on my own.

A particle in the infinite square well has its initial wave function as an even mixture of the first two stationary states

[tex]\Psi(x,0) = A(\psi_1 (x) + \psi_2 (x)[/tex]

I am to find the expectation value of H and state how it compares with E1 and E2.

(There were a few sub questions but I've done ok with them, except that finding the expectation value of x was incredibly tedious.)

3. The attempt at a solution

I'm a bit new to this. I'm assuming here that the particle can possess either of these two energies given by

[tex]E = \frac{n^2 {\pi}^2 \hbar^2}{2m a^2}[/tex]

which gives

[tex]E_1 = \frac{{\pi}^2 \hbar^2}{2m a^2}[/tex]
    [tex]E_2 = \frac{2{\pi}^2 \hbar^2}{m a^2}[/tex]

I'm not sure what the probability that a given particle can assume either energy is. Can I take the question's word that there is an "even mixture" of the two states, so the probability for each state is 0.5?

If that is the case, then if I use

[tex]<H> = \int \Psi^{"*"} \hat{H} \Psi dx = E[/tex]. How do I reconcile that with E1 and E2?

2. jcsd
  3. Mar 26, 2009 #2
    You are on the right track. I assume one of the subquestions are that you have to normalize the wave function.

When you have normalized it, you can find the probability of the wave function collapsing to psi_1 and psi_2, i.e. the probability of measuren E_1 and E_2. When you have these probabilities, you can find the expectation value.