1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Finding the 5th root.

1. Jul 17, 2007 #1
    1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data
    Find a Polynomial function of degree 5 whose zeros are: 2, radical 7, and 5i

2. Relevant equations
    Multiplying roots

3. The attempt at a solution

Hello, well it's my first time at these forums so just following the template given. Thanks for any help by the way I'm just so confused.

I know that being given an imaginary number makes another root -5i automatically but the polynomial is a degree 5 with 5 roots. So my roots are (2, radical 7, 5i and -5i) I only have 4 and I don't really know any way to find the 5th.

I've already multiplied 5i and -5i to get one part of the polynomial but without the 5th root, I just can't finish. Anyone have any suggestions?

Thanks so much again.

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 17, 2007 #2

Hurkyl

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Just because a polynomial has 5i as a root doesn't mean that it must also have -5i as a root.

e.g. f(x) = x - 5i is a perfectly good polynomial function.

I don't see anything in your statement of the problem that requires those to be the only roots of your polynomial, or that they have to have multiplicity one.

4. Jul 17, 2007 #3
    Did you miss something in the question? i.e. the coefficient of the polynomial is restricted to real interger ...

5. Jul 17, 2007 #4

chanvincent: I'm pretty sure she wants to keep the polynomial away from imaginary numbers.

Ahhh, good point I guess I can find any polynomial with those roots giving it any multiplicity I want since it says "a" polynomial function. Thanks for the speedy replies both of you.