1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

First impressions on REU letter of interest (MATH)

1. Nov 2, 2011 #1
    Started writing this yesterday. Hoping for some constructive critique.

As far as what I have to say about it...It is not finished, and I have not yet gotten to talking about the program I am interested in yet, just background stuff about me so far (really looking to find out if i'm going too far into this, or if it's not quite what is expected, etc.. This is my first time applying to REUs)

At the rate it is going, it WILL be too long, but I will cut it down when the time comes. Right now I'm just getting something on paper.

I have personal critiques, but will refrain from stating them so that I don't influence other people's responses. I will however say that I think it sort-of reads like a story...which I think is probably a bad thing.

The description:

A personal statement that describes in approximately two pages (1) your background in mathematics, statistics, and programming; (2) your interest in applications of mathematics and/or statistics; (3) your previous research experiences (if any); and (4) your experience with or interest in team work (this can be in an academic or in an extracurricular setting, e.g., a campus club).

My statement: