Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

FIRST Robotics Kickoff

1. Jan 9, 2010 #1

Chi Meson

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

The FIRST Robotics Kickoff for 2010 was today. This year's game is "http://www.usfirst.org/roboticsprograms/frc/content.aspx?id=16209"."

This is my first year as a coach for our school's Robotics Team. We now have six weeks to design and build our robot to do this task. If anyone wonders where I've gone over the next two months...

Any other FRC people here in PF-land?

Last edited by a moderator: Apr 24, 2017
  2. jcsd
  3. Jan 9, 2010 #2

Evo

Staff: Mentor

I hope you are planning to keep a photo record to share with us.

If I'm not mistaken, Integral was involved in a robot project last year

4. Jan 10, 2010 #3
    I did FIRST as a student the past two years (which was our rookie year), and as the team captain last year. This year I'll be too busy studying at college and whatnot to help much, but I'm still involved with my team to an extent. I didn't go to the kickoff this year, so I only know what the video showed about the game, but it looks interesting. Not sure if I love the soccer balls idea, but I do think the bumps will be a fun challenge.

Last year our main power switch was faulty and the robot kept turning off in the middle of matches, and the year before our design really made it so we had no way to score points, so we'll see how our luck fares us this year.

Hopefully you know what you're in for. It's a lot of fun, but a lot of work too, even for the coaches. When we were putting in six, seven hours a day after school, so were they, but it really is a good time. Plus, for the students who really participate, a lot can be learned (and actually, I'd say the same goes for the coaches as well).

5. Jan 10, 2010 #4

ideasrule

Homework Helper