Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

First Year of Physics at University

1. Dec 4, 2012 #1
    It's my first year of my physics BA. I'm doing very well in my physics class, but I can't help but feel that I'm not actually LEARNING anything.

This probably sounds weird, let me explain.

We go through stuff in class, I read through the chapter we're studying, I do some practice problems, take a quiz, take the mid term (and soon final), but when it comes to a fundamental understanding of the material, it feels as though I'm missing something. I got a 105 on my physics midterm, so if you look at my grades, you'd say "Well, it looks like you're getting it". But I don't FEEL like I am. I don't know what's wrong.

It IS only first year, so maybe the material we're covering is just basic? I'll watch videos on YouTube from physics guys (stuff like Sixty Symbols), and the way they describe and understand the concepts they're talking about is beyond what I could say about myself.

Maybe it's just a bad curriculum?

I just had to get that off my chest. Well, has anyone had a similar experience?

2. jcsd
  3. Dec 4, 2012 #2
    I can relate to this at some level. My suggestion is to not just do pre-written practice problems, but really try to figure things out from scratch. Invent "practice problems" for yourself...