1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Schools First Year University Student

1. Sep 7, 2010 #1
    As the title says, I'm a first year university student, currently attending Northern Michigan University. I'm really quite unsure about what classes I should take in my second semester and was wondering if anyone had some suggestions. I'm unsure what kind of physics/mathematics I want to get into, but I know I belong somewhere in the field of those two subjects. I'm aiming for a Ph.D in whatever field I choose.

During my first semester, I was sort of stuck with classes that I didn't really want because my Freshman Orientation was the last one of the summer and most of the classes I wanted to take were filled. I'm not taking any math or science courses right now, and it really bums me out. Those are the things I understand, things I can get a firm grasp on.

Any suggestions about courses, or even just general college advice, would be greatly appreciated. I look forward to meeting the people of PF and hopefully becoming a regular here.

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 7, 2010 #2

Pengwuino

Gold Member

Talk to your undergraduate advisor. As a math or physics major, your first year is pretty much set in stone (calculus and calculus based physics then load up on GE nonsense).

4. Sep 8, 2010 #3

jtbell

Staff: Mentor