1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Florida Institute of Technology

1. Aug 27, 2005 #1
    In my college search I've noticed that I've picked ideal reaches and not many good matches or safeties. My GPA is 3.0-unweighted (going up), my rank is currently in the top 15%. I haven't yet taken the SAT but feel confident that I can do better than the average score at the Florida Institute of Technology based on PSAT scores and recent practice and studying. I'm a Florida resident and am curious if I could consider this a safety/ good match (they accept 83% of applicants). Can anyone tell me anything about this school, such as how difficult it is to get into?
    P.S. I will probably be closer to their average 3.55 GPA when I graduate, and after reading an article about how colleges reweight GPAs before reporting them, I should mention that my schedules contained mostly honors classes and one AP class (more APs next year along with Dual Enrollment classes next semester), and that my lowest grades were in Freshman year especially in a course which was technically labeled an elective. Also, although it may be subjective, could anyone tell me how good this school is?

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 27, 2005 #2
    Do they care more about weighted on unweighted GPA? I mean it is not same to have A in AP English and A in regular English class.

4. Aug 27, 2005 #3
    I've always been a little confused about that. It is said that they prefer to see good grades in more advanced classes however weighted GPA is not used because of the different weighting techniques form one school to another. In general they look at the unweighted GPA, and reweight it based on your transcript, according to their own formula.

5. Aug 27, 2005 #4