Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Flow of liquids experiment

1. Aug 18, 2008 #1
    hey guys, this is for ppl who have knowledge about the phyiscs of liquids in motion. im a student in yr 12 (f17 years old-final year of school) ive been researching for lyk the past week, if not more, on the subject of the flow of liquids. the students who do physics as a subject have to make up an experiment.

for my experiment i basically have a drainage (storm water/PVC) pipe which is 2m in length, i will have that placed vertically, with 1 tube attached to it at a time, and i will be testing the flow rate of water under varying conditions. it has 3 parts.

the first part i will be testing the flow rate of water at different heights of the pipe (40 cm intervals), one at a time, the diameter and the length of the tube (that is attached to the PVC pipe) will be kept constant.

my next part is testing the flow rate when the diameter of the tube (that is attached to the PVC pipe) varies.

the third and final part of my experiment is testing the flow rate using different lengths of tubing.
    ive got all my results and stuff using data studio. so all my experimentation is done, now all i have to do is the practical report. this topic of physics is all new to me, lyk we have never done it in school, we've done a bit of pascal's principle, P=pgh. but yeah thats bout it.