Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Medical Flu Vaccine

1. Sep 25, 2009 #1

Evo

Staff: Mentor

My company is giving free flu vaccinations at my office the end of October, but I think I will opt to use my free voucher to get it sooner at the doctor.

I've gotten the free flu vaccines for the last couple of years and I am so glad I did.

I'm trying to convince Evo Child to get a vaccination, but she's fallen victim to internet misinformation. I don't want her getting the flu. A few years ago she had pnuemonia that lingered and she developed pleurisy. She was very ill for over 6 months. She needs the vaccine and idiot misinformation on the web has her scared. :mad:

Can we get some professional input here? Thanks.

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 25, 2009 #2

berkeman

As an EMT, I got beat up by the Paramedics and Nurses and Docs that I work with, for not bothering to get a flu shot in previous years. Now I get one each year, especially with all of the patient contacts. Kinda' like a teacher -- lots of carriers that you deal with.

She may get a little sick from the vaccine, but it will only last a day or so, and will not be the full-blown flu (EDIT -- AFAIK, even this is rare). Everybody needs to get both the regular seasonal flu shot and the H1N1 vaccine this year. We need to keep this coming flu season under control as much as we can, and it's going to take everybody's help.

4. Sep 25, 2009 #3

vanesch

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member