Would Fluid Droplets Land in the Same Position in a Vacuum?

In summary, The conversation discusses the pattern resulting from droplets of fluid onto a hard surface. The speaker, who works in a fuel bay, has noticed that the main drop bounces and breaks into smaller drops which scatter randomly. They ask if, in a fully isolated vacuum, dropping identical drops would result in the smaller droplets landing in the same position each time. The response notes that factors such as flow fluctuations and surface tension can influence the dripping, and suggests that doing the experiment in a vacuum at low temperature may yield more consistent results.
Mhorton91
Hello everyone, I have a question regarding the pattern resulting from droplets of fluid onto a hard surface.

Set-up
In addition to being a full time student I also work full time in the fuel bay of a local trucking company terminal. Not the most glamorous job, but regardless. This question comes from as follows, one of our pumps leaks a steady stream of small drops. When the floor is dry, and I watch them, the main drop seems to bounce then break into smaller drops which scatter randomly across the floor. (I'm sure there is a scientific name for this, I just don't know it)

Question
Despite efforts to hold the nozzle exactly still, the smaller drops (after the main drop has "bounced") always appear to spread out randomly. Now, I know that in spite of my efforts to keep everything perfectly still, there are always many small changes to wind speed, temp, volume of initial drop etc... However, it made me curious, if you set up a similar "dropper" in a fully isolated vacuum, and dropped identical drops one after another, would the resultant smaller droplets land in exactly the same position each time?As I reread that, it doesn't sound like a very intelligent question to be asking, but my curiosity has become overwhelming; and I just have to ask.Thanks for any input!
Requ

Physics news on Phys.org
hi there