1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Fluid Mechanics Research

1. Sep 7, 2008 #1
    Hello. I would like to know where is fluid mechanics (computational and experimental) research going to be in the future? Is it growing? What areas in fluids have the greatest (in terms of importance) unsolved problems? (ie. I want to know what is being funded and by whom)

I have access to experts in non-newtownian fluids, turbulence research, microfluidics, aerospace, CFD. I really want to stay focused in the fluids area. I'm a beginner in research and currently I am doing CFD study on a combustion related topic. And previously, in undergrad, I spent a year looking at melt flow behavior of plastics. I just want to know if I pursue a PhD in the future, what particular niche in fluids would I find myself with the potential to get grants and funding to pursue research (whether it be through a post-doc scholarships, professorship, government lab or industry)?

I would welcome any advice or even alternative viewpoints on how I should look at PhD studies.

And if it makes any difference, I am in Canada. I would very much like to stay here but I recognize that there are some countries that may have a group of experts on one particular area of fluids and they would be the places to pursue that avenue of research.

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 7, 2008 #2

Andy Resnick

Science Advisor
    Education Advisor

From my perspective, the money right now is in turbulence/mixing flows and in multiphase flow. There's a lot of commercial applications for both, so there is a lot of money available for scientific topics.