1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Fluid Mechanics, simple task.

1. Jan 22, 2014 #1
    1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data
    Task number 2.
    The problem is that my solution is wrong but the lecturer didnt want to explain what is wrong, she insists on doing it by myself. But to be honest I'm not really good at it and I just need someone either explain it or solve or at least check it and tell me what is wrong there.

SkNglAel.jpg

2. Relevant equations

3. The attempt at a solution

TkYMKC4l.jpg

2. jcsd
  3. Jan 22, 2014 #2
    What is the pressure at depth z below the surface? What is the direction of the pressure acting on the flat ends of the cylinder, and what is the direction of the pressure acting on the curved surface of the cylinder?

Chet

4. Jan 22, 2014 #3
    I would really like to respond to that, but to be honest I dont know how. I didnt know I have to include anything about pressure there :/

5. Jan 22, 2014 #4
    Well the forces on these surfaces are the result of the water pressure acting on them. Are you familiar with the equation p = po+ρgz, where po is the pressure at the air interface, ρ is the water density, and z is the depth?

6. Jan 22, 2014 #5
    I am not, sooo...
    P1=ρgz=1000*10*0.9=9000 kg/m3
    P2=ρgz=1000*10*2.1=21000 kg/m3

I just dont know from where will I get po.

7. Jan 22, 2014 #6
    Ummm I have problem with units now. po is F/s where F = P*s (s is the area of base)
    F1= p1*s=qgh1*s ;
    F2= p2*s=qgh2*s

F1 = 10179 kg/(m^2 * s^2)
    F2 = 23751 kg/(m^2 * s^2)

V = (h2-h1)*s=(2.1-0.9)*1.131=1.3572

F = qgV= 1000kg/m^3 * 10 kg/s^2 * 1.3572m^2 = 13572

I made somewhere a mistake again. Units are totally wrong.

Last edited: Jan 22, 2014
  8. Jan 22, 2014 #7