Why can't a piece of yarn be used like a bullwhip in fly fishing?

• I
  • Thread starter Jim Alexander
  • Start date
In summary, Jim is seeking clarification on the physics behind fly casting and the design of tapered leaders. He is familiar with some electrical engineering concepts but has limited knowledge in mechanics. He has read an article by Jeff Kommers on the subject but is having trouble finding more information. Jim is hoping to better understand the energy transfer and landing of the fly on the water.
Jim Alexander
I am new, thanks in advance for the help. I have had some electrical engineering in the past, but mechanics were never my strong suit. I remember some calc and physics, but I am rusty.
I am a fly fisher, and I am studying fly casting to better my understanding of designing my own tapered leaders.
my question is, why can't you crack a piece of yarn like a bullwhip? I am trying to understand how the taper of the fly line to a thin, flexible element suddenly "looses" energy so the fly lands gently on the water after all the muscle of getting the fly line such a far distance out.
thanks,
Jim

Physics news on Phys.org
Hmm. Not definitive but a magazine article about some calculations by Jeff Kommers - then at MIT.

http://discovermagazine.com/2008/the-body/18-the-whip-like-physics-of-fly-fishing

I cannot google a published paper - probably my problem somehow. Someone else here on PF will know more.

Google ' Fishing line dynamics '

Sorry I was away from the computer for a few days. thanks for the replies. the article by jeff kommers is an interesting one. googling the topic came up with a few things, but even among engineers/scientists who have studied the subject analytically, little is available for leader design but the guess-and-check method. I wish I knew more, to be able to at least narrow down design and expectations before having to load up a rod and test drive it.

thanks to all.

jim