Researching Novel Ideas - Forum Discussion

In summary: KazumiIn summary, the conversation discusses a writer's research on the science behind a fictional disease in their novel. It is noted that viruses can survive in the air for different lengths of time and can be spread by fomites. The writer is looking for information on any known viruses that can be spread by fomites.
Kage Kazumi
PForums,

I am a writer working on a novel and as part of my job is to research the science behind any idea, I have to make sure is it plausible in real life. I did some research about three years ago for the novel I am writing and got the opinion from scientist and medical experts in regard to the fictional disease I have created in my novel.

I know that a Virus (remembered from high school) can survive in the air for about 30sec. My question is, are there any known viruses that can be spread by Fomites.

v/respectfully,
Kage Kazumi

Biology news on Phys.org

Kage Kazumi said:
PForums,

I am a writer working on a novel and as part of my job is to research the science behind any idea, I have to make sure is it plausible in real life. I did some research about three years ago for the novel I am writing and got the opinion from scientist and medical experts in regard to the fictional disease I have created in my novel.

I know that a Virus (remembered from high school) can survive in the air for about 30sec. My question is, are there any known viruses that can be spread by Fomites.

v/respectfully,
Kage Kazumi

Note that all viruses are different and whilst some may last only minutes in air others may last a lot longer. As for fomites they definitely can spread viruses, here's a list of http://aem.asm.org/cgi/content/full/73/6/1687/T4" [Broken].

Last edited by a moderator:

Thank you.

v/Respectfully,
Kage

1. What is "Researching Novel Ideas - Forum Discussion"?