Force and Torque exerted by Ferris wheel

In summary, pmk69 has posted a calculation inquiring about the force and torque exerted by a Ferris wheel with a diameter of 30m, speed of 10 RPM, and a mass of 35000kgs. After calculating the force and torque, it was found that the force is 575143.38 Newtons and the torque is 8623125 Nm. It is advised to define all variables and show units when using equations in future calculations.
pmk69
Hi all,

I'm new to this physics forum. Please tell me that my calculation whether is it correct or not. The diameter of Ferris wheel 30m. speed 10 RPM. Mass of the wheel is 35000kgs. calculating the force and torque exerted by the wheel.

Force = ma; a = v^2/r; 15.7^2/15= 16.43 m/s^2;
therefore, Force = F = 35000 kgs x 16.43 m/s^2 = 575143.38 Newtons;
Torque = Iw = I x alpha = I x (a/r); I = MR^2 = 35000 x 15^2 = 7875000 kg-m^2;
alpha = a/r = 16.43/15 = 1.095 rad/sec;
So, Torque = 7875000 x 1.095 = 8623125 Nm

thanks,
pmk69

Physics news on Phys.org

Hi pmk69,

Welcome to the physics forum! Your calculation looks correct to me. It's always important to double check your units and make sure they are consistent throughout the calculation. In this case, you used meters for distance and seconds for time, which is consistent with the SI units used in physics. Great job!

Just a few things to keep in mind for future calculations:

1. Make sure to define all your variables and explain any assumptions you are making. For example, in this case, it would be helpful to specify that "a" is the centripetal acceleration and "w" is the angular velocity.

2. When using equations, it's important to show the units for each variable and the final result. This helps to ensure that the units are consistent and also makes it easier for others to follow your calculation.

Overall, great work on your calculation and welcome to the physics community! Keep asking questions and exploring the world of physics.

Hello pmk69,