Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Force fields?

1. Jan 20, 2006 #1
    I am an aspiring science fiction writer. By training I'm a psychologist, so my knowledge of physics is somewhat limited. (I like understatement.) In the story I am currently writing, I have a military base surrounded by a force field, which I assume would be some sort of EM field. If I set up my commandos with a mobile EM emitter and have them set it to the same frequency as the base field, would they be able to pass through? If not, what could they do instead and still maintain secrecy?

2. jcsd
  3. Jan 20, 2006 #2
    I would make it a glass dome cleaned by that new windex paper towel. Only the base guards would know where the hatch is and everyone else woule bounce off it all confused.

4. Jan 20, 2006 #3
    An EM field isn't likely to keep out neutral matter (i.e., people), unless it's strong enough to strip electrons from atoms in folks getting too close.

5. Jan 20, 2006 #4

Astronuc

Staff: Mentor

To reduce the field strength one would need to use and EM field of opposite polarity and some periodicity (frquency), and this would be detectable.

The only way to pass through a field undetected is to establish a volume (path) such that the field strength bounday conditions match the unperturbed field, or that the perturbation of the field is less than the noise/disturbance tolerance of the monitoring system.

6. Jan 20, 2006 #5

ZapperZ

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Education Advisor

It also will not stop my high-powered THz laser from my compact SASE FEL.

Force fields in most sci-fiction novels and movies are over-rated.

Zz.

7. Jan 20, 2006 #6
    Thanks to all of you. You have given me much to think about. I wondered about the ability of an EM field to stop something neutral. An EM field would stop a charged particle beam, wouldn't it?

8. Jan 20, 2006 #7