1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Force problem, sub teacher

1. Feb 11, 2007 #1
    Hi, I hope this type of question is against the rules here. But I have a slight emergency. I have to substitute teach a HS physics class tomorrow. I am a biology teacher, so this is out of my realm. I have to explain a couple problems and have no idea how to begin. I am figuring I need to sin and cos some angles, but the rest is unknown. Here's the question, if anyone can step me through the math of this, I will be forever grateful
    A force board is set up in a physics lab and the three spring scales are hooked to the central ring and the notched perimeter of the table. The first scale reads 12.5 N at an angle of 0 degrees. The second scale reads 17.3 N at an angle of -34 degrees. If the three forces are balanced, what are the reading and angle of the third spring scale?
  2. jcsd
  3. Feb 11, 2007 #2
    This really isnt clear--could you describe a picture?
    I mean, what is the "first scale" where are the others? what does -34 degrees mean?
  4. Feb 11, 2007 #3
    Thanks for replying, but I'm sorry, that is all the info I have. I assume I would draw an x and y axis, with the 0 degree vector at the horizontal x and the 34 degree one below the x-axis. Like if it was a clock, it would be 3:20. Does this help?
  5. Feb 11, 2007 #4
    okay, if they are balanced forces, then the sum of all forces is equal to zero. This means that if you add the force from the spring pulling horizontally to the force of the -34 degree spring IN THE X DIRECTION you should find the x- component of the other spring.
    so...let me find my calculator...