Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Foriegn Language

1. Sep 11, 2009 #1
    Hey guys;

I gotta take a foreign lang. naxt semester, and I am wondering what to take. My major is physics and I am thinking maybe French (I wanna go to CERN!) or maybe Greek.

Whats a good foreign language for a physicist? :wink:

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 11, 2009 #2

lisab

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Greek seems a curious choice...any particular reason?

4. Sep 11, 2009 #3
    My friend is doing like 3 Greeks because he wants to read bible/something.. in greek

5. Sep 11, 2009 #4

arildno

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member
    Dearly Missed

Norwegian. :smile:

6. Sep 11, 2009 #5
    Man I've always wanted to learn latin... lol :D I'm into social sciences though

7. Sep 11, 2009 #6

symbolipoint

Homework Helper
    Education Advisor
    Gold Member

To decide which langauge to study, ask yourself, WHAT DO YOU WANT TO BE ABLE TO DO WITH OR USING THIS LANGUAGE AFTER YOU STUIDIED IT FOR TWO SEMESTERS?

8. Sep 11, 2009 #7

Hel

Latin. A springboard to learning any latin-based language out there. If you were a biologist it would help binomial nomenclature and lots of terminology make sense.

9. Sep 11, 2009 #8

drizzle

Gold Member

German is quite an interesting language [there’re lots of good physics books and articles for any physicist to read]

though, I’m not expecting you to handle the language by studying it for only one semester, or is it two..whatever. I think you need at least 3 years to be good at it

10. Sep 11, 2009 #9
    actually, i am considering trying to teach myself with rosetta stone or something, and AP'ing out of the classes.

i read in a book somewhere a while back that a lot of physicists learn greek.. dont know if there is any merit to that, but i really have do idea which one to pick.

11. Sep 11, 2009 #10