Solution: Proving Existence of x for Logic Formal Proof

• MHB
  • Thread starter Fumbles22
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Logic Proof
In summary, the proof system used in this conversation is unclear, but the given formula is not provable due to the presence of a counterexample. The steps provided in the conversation are also unclear and do not lead to a valid proof. The author suggests specifying the formal system and any necessary axioms before attempting to construct a proof.
Fumbles22
Give a formal proof to show [tex] \forall x (0' + x' ) = (x . 0'') \vdash \exists x (x + x')= (x . x')[/tex]

I'm new to these, and this one looks like it should be easy.

What I want to do is:
1). substitute x into where there are already x's.
2). Make the statement valid for all y
3). substitute y into 0' and y' into 0''.
3). Since it's valid for all y, choose y to be 0.

Here's what I did:

1 (1) [tex] \forall x (0' + x' ) = (x . 0'')[/tex] Assumption
1 (2) [tex](0' +x')=(x.0'')[/tex] Universal Elimination rule
1 (3) [tex]\exists y (y+x')=(x.y') [/tex] Existential Introduction, 2
4 (4) [tex] y=x [/tex] Assumption
1,4 (5) [tex] \exists x (x+x')=(x.x') [/tex] Taut 3,4 <--- ?
1 (6) [tex] \exists x (x+x')= (x.x') [/tex] Existential Hypothesis, 5

I think I've got the right idea, I think the execution starts to go wrong at around line (4).

Does anyone have any ideas?

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
Welcome to MHB!