Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Fortran Question SOS

1. Apr 8, 2014 #1
    Hi, i am a meteorologist student and I have some data I have to prepare using Fortan. I don't know how to make it read the file from the 4th row till the end and from the 60th line till the 100th. Can you please help me? I'm desperate!!

2. jcsd
  3. Apr 8, 2014 #2

jedishrfu

Staff: Mentor

Welcome to PF!

Read all rows and keep only the rows you want.

4. Apr 8, 2014 #3
    I'm afraid I can't do that. There has to be a way I can do that. I know I can use "do" but I don't know how exactly. Does anyone know?

5. Apr 8, 2014 #4

jtbell

First let's focus on something simpler. Do you know how to read the entire file, one line at a time?

When you can do that, you can modify it to read only the lines that you want.

6. Apr 8, 2014 #5

jedishrfu

Here's a reference to reading files in fortran. there are other online tutorials as well that you can search for:

http://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/Fortran/io

and one for do loops (bottom half of page)

http://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/Fortran/Fortran_control

look at how you can place a read statement inside a do loop and iterate over the number of lines you want to keep or skip.

post your code if you want more help on fortran specifics or errors you're getting. Use the (code) and (/code) tags around your example where the parens are really square brackets.

Last edited: Apr 8, 2014
  7. Apr 8, 2014 #6
    Yes, I know how to read the whole file. I was using the do loop. I wrote it like this:
    do i=60, 100
    j=4, 60
    read(*,*) the name of the file
    end do

but it never worked.

8. Apr 8, 2014 #7

Mark44

I'm sorry, but this isn't even close to what you need to do.

Your loop is semantically correct, but I don't know why it's running 40 times.
    The line j = 4, 60 -- what is it supposed to be doing?