Foundations of string theory

In summary, Anshul is a new member of the forum with a background in engineering and a strong interest in theoretical quantum optics and Many-World Interpretation. They have recently been studying string theory and have questions about its unifying nature, its relation to quantum mechanics and relativity, and its potential to answer fundamental questions about the universe. Anshul is also looking for book recommendations on string theory.
infinityanshu
Hello everyone...

I am a new member, i am an engineering student , but working in physics all the time :) , i have been working on theoretical quantum optics for a year now...but always been thinking about Many-World -Interpretation and so came the questions about parallel universe ...

So its been a week that i have been goin thru String Theory , i have some basic questions to ask you...

1. I understand all the four fundamental forces of nature , but why we need unification??
2. How quantum mechanics and relativity oppose each other?
3. what are the motives /questions which string theory is expected to answer...

Also I want to study string theory and its mathematical formalism(no-interpretations )
so if anyone can tell me the best book(s)/e-book(s) available...as i l take that course of my own...

Anshul

Physics news on Phys.org

Hello Anshul,

Welcome to the forum! It's great to have someone with a background in engineering and physics here. I am also interested in Many-World Interpretation and parallel universes, so I can definitely relate to your questions. To answer your questions about string theory, let me break it down for you: