Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Four Level Laser

1. Aug 27, 2014 #1
    I am not sure this is the right place where I should post, I hope I've chosen the right section.

I'm studying laser's fundamentals on Svelto's "Principles of Lasers". Here I find the description of a generic four level laser by means of rate equations; it can be represented like this: (first picture)

Then, I read that the CO2 laser, whose basic scheme is in the second picture, can be modeled as a four-levele laser too; I don't understand why this is true. In the CO2 laser the radiative transition is between level 3 and 2, while in the first photo it is between 2 and 1. Moreover, level n.3 in the first picture should be pratically empty, while in the CO2 laser it isn't so.

Can anyone explain me how I can model a CO2 laser like a four-level laser like the one in the first picture?

Thanks.

Attached Files:

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 27, 2014 #2
    I am not a laser expert, but maybe this helps. The pictures are describing somewhat different processes. The CO2 laser is a four level system:

v0: ground state
    v1: symmetric vibrational mode
    v2: bending mode
    v3: anti-symmetric vibrational mode

In the CO2 laser you have a lasing from the anti-symmetric (v3) vibrational mode to the symmetric vibrational (v1) mode with the release of energy as a photon. Such a transistion satisfies conservation laws. However, you can also have relaxations between the antisymmetric mode (v3) and the "bending mode" (v2), yet this is not an optically active transition. The v3-v2 transitions are due to collisions in the gas.