Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Four point probe help

1. Jul 3, 2008 #1
    Hi,

I am new to four point probe measurements and I have a question.

I've deposited 500 nm of Ni on glass substrate to check out the equipment we bought. When I measured its sheet resistance the display showed 13.56 mohm/sqare for 5 mA current.

To check out the measurement I multiplied the sheet resistance with the coating thickness which gave about 1/10 of Ni's bulk resistivity (96.3 nohm.meter). I couldn't figured it out if it's a faulty measurement or is there a logic I am missing. Any help would be appreciated.

thanks.

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 3, 2008 #2

Mapes

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member

Hi physicistX, welcome to PF. A few questions: is your test equipment set to analyze a thin conductive layer (instead of a bulk sample)? Are the length and width of the Ni film much larger than the spacing between the probes? Are you sure of the thickness?

You could also confirm the current and voltage with a multimeter. In fact, a four-point-probe measurement is quite easy to do yourself; the only advantage of the tool is the precise spacing of the probes.

Are you familiar with the equation used to turn current, voltage, and geometry into sheet resistance? See here or here, for example.

4. Jul 3, 2008 #3

Gokul43201

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Could it be that your film is actually much thicker?

Have you measured at smaller currents and established linearity?

I don't see an error in your logic. The film resistivity for 500nm should be pretty close to the bulk value... possibly a little bigger.

5. Jul 4, 2008 #4
    Hi Mapes,