Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Frames of reference?

1. Apr 28, 2009 #1
    Im trying to understand frames of reference, im very new to relativity so sorry if im being silly!

Suppose you have a 2 spacecraft one travelling relative to the sun, and the other traveling relative to the first spacecraft in a perpendicualar direction. i know the velocitys of space craft A relative to the sun and the velocity of B relative to A.

Am i right in saying theres three frames of reference?

What im trying to consider is relating spacecraft B to the sun...so am i right in saying i relate A to the sun with lorentz transformations and B to A and relate the two?

Im just a little confused since theres the aditional moving object!
    Any explaination would help!

2. jcsd
  3. Apr 28, 2009 #2

tiny-tim

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

Welcome to PF!

Hi venomxx! Welcome to PF! :smile:

Yes, each velocity has its own frame of reference.

Since A B and S have different velocities, each can only regard itself as stationary if it uses its "own" frame of reference.

To transform between coordinates in different frames of reference, you use a Lorentz transformation (which may be a boost or a rotation or a combination).

You can represent a Lorentz transformation by a 4x4 matrix.

To convert from B's coordinates to A's, and then to S's, you multiply the transformations (or the matrices).

The only complication is that if (as usually happens) B to A and A to S are boosts (with no rotation), then the combination B to S is a combination: a boost and a rotation. :smile:

4. Apr 28, 2009 #3
    Cheers for the quick response! Iv a better understanding of the whole problem...i read into the lorentz boosts and it does help my understanding!:)