FRAP in Water: Can It Be Done?

• Thread starter Lindsayyyy
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Water
In summary, the conversation is about someone who is new to FRAP (fluorescence recovery after photobleaching) and is trying to measure the diffusion coefficient of a small molecule in water. They are unsure if this technique will work in a solution and are looking for papers or publications where FRAP has been performed in low viscosity solutions. Another person suggests using fluorescence correlation spectroscopy instead. One person has trouble evaluating the data due to the lack of a full cell ROI and background ROI in a liquid. However, a paper was found that uses FRAP in cell-free conditions and it should be possible to derive the appropriate equations from first principles.
Lindsayyyy
Hello everyone,

I have the following question: I'm doing FRAP in water with a quite small molecule in order to get the diffusion coefficient. I'm quite new to FRAP but I have a feeling that this doesn't work very well. I couldn't find any papers or publications in general about someone doing FRAP in a solution. FRAP seems more like a technique for biological cells. Can anyone confirm this or tell me about papers where they perfom FRAP in solution with low viscosity?

thanks for your helpLindsay
edit: also I did some measurements, but it seems like quite the impossible task to do the evaluation of the data, because I need a whole cell ROI and background ROI which isn't possible in a liquid because I have no discrete borders like I would have in a cell.

Biology news on Phys.org
thanks for your answer.

Basically I can detect a typical FRAP "spectrum" but I don't know if I can evaulate correctly because of the problems mentioned above (no full 'cell' ROI) and also no background is available to measure.

thank you very much, I will take a look

1. Can FRAP be used to measure antioxidant activity in water?