1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Free Speech At Universities

1. Aug 7, 2017 #1

bhobba

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Hi Guys

This case is very famous here in Aus and involves my old Alma Mater, QUT, where I studied math and computer sciece:
    http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/re...l/news-story/09857c729cbc94d0c0c24996349cb68e

It has been a bit divisive out here with most people on the students side (they were - IMHO - well screwed) but curios what those overseas think.

Thanks
    Bill

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 7, 2017 #2

symbolipoint

Homework Helper
    Education Advisor
    Gold Member

The link does not give an article. No topic to read.

"There's more to this storyBut it's a member-only story. Subscribe today to unlock it and more..."

Who wants to subscribe just to read the article?

4. Aug 7, 2017 #3

bhobba

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Sorry guys.

They obviously put it behind a paywall. I subscribe so it didn't affect me. I will post what it says:

Start of article (some irrelevant bits removed)

What happened to Alex Wood, 23, and his fellow Queensland University of Technology students could happen to anyone for expressing a mild opinion on Facebook.

<< Quote shortened by Mentors due to copyright issues >>

End of article

There is not much more I can say except he easily reached his target donation wise so didnt end up out of pocket.

He was represented pro bono by a QC (Queens Council - in the US they would probably be called something like Senior Council) - it outraged the QC so much. But there were still a few costs to pay even after he won in trying to obtain some recompense for the affect it had on his studies etc. He easily won that - but she is pretty much bankrupt so it ended up being out of his pocket.

Thanks
    Bill